This event has ended. Visit the official site or create your own event on Sched.
AU-EU Summit 17-18 February 2022: A Science Agenda

The AERAP Africa-Europe Science Collaboration Platform will organise side events at the AU-EU Summit on 14-18 February 2022. The purpose of the meeting will be to promote awareness of the contribution of collaborative research and development as a critical aspect of EU-Africa relations and collaborations, in particular in addressing global challenges together.

To join this event please register here.

avatar for Koleka Mlisana

Koleka Mlisana

National Health Laboratory Service NHLS
Executive Manager: Academic Affairs, Research & Quality Assurance
Professor Koleka Mlisana is the Executive Manager: Academic Affairs, Research & Quality Assurance at the National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS), since July 2018. Prior to this she was the HOD: Medical Microbiology at the University of KwaZulu Natal/Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital in Durban; also served a term as a member of the NHLS Board; and used to be a member of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Antimicrobial Resistance. She has previously been an active HIV/AIDS researcher for over a decade focussing on HIV prevention and pathogenesis, working at the Centre for the AIDS Program of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA), Durban. She has undertaken seminal research which has revealed how the body responds during acute HIV infection. Her current research interests include TB diagnostics, antimicrobial resistance as well as sexually transmitted infections. Prof Mlisana has co-authored more than 190 peer reviewed journal articles. Amongst other national commitments, Prof Mlisana is the current Co-chair of the Covid-19 Ministerial Advisory Committee (MAC), she recently chaired the Pathology/Laboratory subcommittee of the first established MAC for Covid-19; is a member of the Board of Trustees for the South African National AIDS Council (SANAC), a member of the Medical and Dental Board of the HPCSA/Medical Scientist Committee, and a newly elected member of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAF). She has nurtured and mentored many young scientists and is passionate about equipping the next generation of leaders and scientists.